Watch CBSN Live

Following are brief profiles of the current members of the House Judiciary Committee..

Henry Hyde - (R-6th) Illinois

Henry Hyde, Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee

The chairman of the House Judiciary Committee represents Illinois' Sixth District, where he once worked as a Chicago trial lawyer. He also serves on the International Relations Committee and was a member of the committee investigating the Iran-Contra scandal in 1987. A combat veteran of World War II, Hyde holds a bachelor's degree from Georgetown University and a law degree from Loyola University in Chicago His hometown is Wood Dale, Ill.

James Sensenbrenner - (R-9th) Wisconsin

Henry Hyde, Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee

Regularly cited by the National Taxpayers Union as the most fiscally responsible House member, Sensenbrenner is a recipient of the Taxpayers' Friend Award. Representing the 9th District in southeast Wisconsin, Sensenbreener also is chairman of the House Science Committee and previously served as chairman of the Space and Aeronautics Subcommittee. He is a graduate of Stanford University and earned a law degree at the University of Wisconsin at Madison. He is married and a father of two.

Bill McCollum - (R-8th) Florida

Bill McCollum

The representative from Florida's 8th District of Orlando also is chairman of the House Subcommittee on Crime. A retired U.S. Navy veteran who served 23 years as an offier in the Judge Advocate General's Corps, McCollum practiced law in Orange County before his election to Congress. He earned his degree from the University of Florida. He is married and has three sons.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue