Watch CBSN Live

CMA Awards: Strait Makes History

George Strait became the most-nominated performer in Country Music Association (CMA) history Tuesday, getting five nominations - including one as Entertainer of the Year.

Strait, 46, a Texas-based traditional country music singer, now has 47 CMA award nominations over his 17-year career, surpassing Merle Haggard's record of 43.

Click here for a complete list of CMA award nominees.

Strait has won 10 CMA awards, including those for male vocalist and album for the past two years. He was named best entertainer in 1989 and 1990.

Singers Deana Carter, Neal McCoy, and Jo Dee Messina announced the nominations at a Tuesday morning news conference. The winners will be announced Sept. 23 during ceremonies to be broadcast on CBS.

Carter and Messina both were nominated for best video, for Messina's Bye Bye and Carter's Did I Shave My Legs for This?

Strait also was nominated for best male vocalist, album (One Step at a Time), music video (Carrying Your Love With Me), and single (I Just Want to Dance With You).

Folk singer-songwriter John Prine picked up a nomination for song of the year for co-writing Strait's hit I Just Want to Dance With You with Roger Cook.

Last year's Entertainer of the Year, Garth Brooks, got four nominations: best entertainer, male vocalist, vocal event (In Another's Eyes with Trisha Yearwood), and album (Sevens). Faith Hill, Patty Loveless, and Tim McGraw also got four nominations apiece.

Rounding out the best entertainer category with Strait and Brooks are Vince Gill, McGraw, and the duo Brooks & Dunn. The best male vocalist nominees are Strait, Brooks, Gill, McGraw and Collin Raye.

The 6,100 industry workers who vote on the awards snubbed two popular singers. Neither Alan Jackson nor LeAnn Rimes got any nominations.

Elvis Presley, Tammy Wynette, George Morgan, and country music business executive E.W. "Bud" Wendell, will be inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame during the awards show.

Gill will be host of the show for the seventh consecutive year.

Written by Jim Patterson

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue