Watch CBSN Live

Country Fast Facts: Cayman Islands

Cayman Islands

moveClock(); //function call


The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries, and were administered by Jamaica after 1863.

In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies, but when the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency.

The Cayman Islands are located in the western Caribbean Sea, comprising the islands of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman.

It is a global offshore financial services centre and one of the leading tourist scuba diving destinations in the world.

Source: CIA World Fact Book

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue