Watch CBSN Live

Country Fast Facts: St. Kitts & Nevis

St. Kitts & Nevis

moveClock(); //function call


The Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis (also known as the Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis), located in the Leeward Islands, is a federal two-island nation in the West Indies.

It is the smallest nation in the Americas in both area and population.

First settled by the British in 1623, the islands became an associated state with full internal autonomy in 1967.

The island of Anguilla rebelled and was allowed to secede in 1971.

Saint Kitts and Nevis achieved independence in 1983.

In 1998, a vote in Nevis on a referendum to separate from Saint Kitts fell short of the two-thirds majority needed.

Nevis continues in its efforts to try and separate from Saint Kitts.

Source: CIA World Fact Book

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue