Watch CBSN Live

Leslie Moonves, Bob Schieffer among TV Hall of Fame inductees

The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences inducted six new members into its Hall of Fame on Monday, including CBS Corp. President and CEO Leslie Moonves and CBS News' chief Washington Correspondent and "Face the Nation" anchor Bob Schieffer.

Other honorees included director/producer Ron Howard, "Law & Order" creator/executive producer Dick Wolf and sportscaster Al Michaels. Philio T. Farnsworth, who is credited with inventing all-electronic television transmission, was also honored posthumously.

The inductees were celebrated at a gala held at the Beverly Hilton hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif.

"I have always wanted to be a reporter," Schieffer said. "And I'm one of the lucky ones because I grew up and got to be what I wanted to be when I was a little guy. And I've never been sorry. It's a wonderful way to spend your life."

Moonves noted that his parents, who recently celebrated their 70th wedding anniversary, were in the audience at the event.

"I think my father tonight is finally accepting that it's all right that I didn't go to medical school," he joked.

Inductees into the television academy's Hall of Fame are recognized for their "extraordinary contributions to the medium."

Other attendees at the gala included writer/producer Aaron Sorkin, filmmaker George Lucas and actors Ted Danson, Mary Steenburgen, Ice-T (with wife Coco), Will Arnett, Kaley Cuoco, Paulie Perrette, Sam Waterston and Matt LeBlanc.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue