Watch CBSN Live

Musical Greats On Inauguration Lineup

The Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies has announced the program for the swearing-in ceremony for President-elect Barack Obama on January 20. Mr. Obama of course is the main event, but in addition, there are some other musical greats and famous names who will take part.

Among the musical acts taking part will be the "The Queen of Soul" Aretha Franklin. Also, there will be a performance including Itzhak Perlman and Yo-Yo Ma. Two famous spiritual leaders also will make remarks -- Dr. Rick Warren of Saddleback Church in California (who hosted a forum with Mr. Obama and Sen. John McCain in August) and Reverend Dr. Joseph E. Lowery (who co-founded the Southern Christian Leadership Conference with Martin Luther King, Jr.).

Below is the full lineup, as announced by the committee:

Musical Selections
The United States Marine Band

Musical Selections
The San Francisco Boys Chorus and the San Francisco Girls Chorus

Call to Order and Welcoming Remarks
The Honorable Dianne Feinstein

Dr. Rick Warren, Saddleback Church, Lake Forest, CA

Musical Selection
Aretha Franklin

Oath of Office Administered to Vice President-elect Joseph R. Biden, Jr.
By Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, The Honorable John Paul Stevens

Musical Selection, John Williams, composer/arranger
Itzhak Perlman, Violin
Yo-Yo Ma, Cello
Gabriela Montero, Piano
Anthony McGill, Clarinet

Oath of Office Administered to President-elect Barack H. Obama
By the Chief Justice of the United States, The Honorable John G. Roberts, Jr.

Inaugural Address
The President of the United States, The Honorable Barack H. Obama

Elizabeth Alexander

The Reverend Dr. Joseph E. Lowery

The National Anthem
The United States Navy Band "Sea Chanters"

Click Here For All Of's Special Inauguration Coverage

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue